

## APARNA SEN, SEEMA DEO & USTAD ZAKIR HUSSAIN TO BE HONOURED AT 15<sup>TH</sup> PIFF

• Films selected for Marathi International Competition announced

Pune, January 10<sup>th</sup>: Aparna Sen, noted Filmmaker, Screenwriter and Actor and Seema Deo, veteran film Actor known for her work in Hindi and Marathi cinema will be honoured with the '**PIFF Distinguished** Award' at the upcoming Pune International Film Festival (PIFF) for their outstanding contribution to Indian Cinema. Secondly, the prestigious 'S. D. Burman International Award for Creative Sound and Music' will be presented to Tabla Maestro, Composer and Percussionist Ustad Zakir Hussain this year.

These felicitations would be done during the Inaugural Function of 15<sup>th</sup> PIFF to be held on January 12<sup>th</sup> at 4:30pm at City Pride - Kothrud. 'Thank you for Bombing', a film from Austria directed by 'Barbara Eder' would be opening film of the 15<sup>th</sup>PIFF, which will be showcased immediately after the Inaugural Function.

This was announced by Dr. Jabbar Patel, Festival Director of PIFF during the Press Conference held in the city today. Ravi Gupta, Secretary – PIFF and Samar Nakhate, Creative Director - PIFF were also present on this occasion.

Aparna Sen, a noted film maker, screenwriter and an actress known for her work in Bengali Cinema. Winner of 3 National Awards and 9 International Film Festival Awards for her Directorial work, Sen has also been conferred with the 4<sup>th</sup> highest civilian award 'Padma Shri' by the Government of India. She has been the recipient

of the Bengal Film Journalists' Association Awards (BFJA Awards), the oldest Association of Film Critics in India on as many as 8 occasions.

Seema Deo, an acclaimed actor of yesteryears, worked in over 80 movies and created a mark with her impressive performances in Hindi and Marathi film industry. Wife of veteran film actor Ramesh Deo and mother of Ajinkya and Abhinay Deo, who also carved niche for themselves in the film industry.

Ustad Zakir Hussain, who came to limelight as the child prodigy only to became one of the most respected names in world of music. Known for his matchless work in the field of music, he is also the recipient of Padma Shree and Padma Bhushan awards from the Government of India.

The list of much awaited list of films of Marathi competition section was also announced on the occasion. The movies shortlisted for 15th PIFF include:

- 'Doctor Rakhmabai' (Director Ananth Narayan Mahadevan)
- 'Lathe Joshi' (Director Mangesh Joshi)
- 'Ventilator' (Director Rajesh Mapuskar)
- 'Ek Te Chaar Band' (Director Apurva Sathe)
- 'Dashakriya' (Director Sandeep Bhalchandra Patil)
- 'Ghuma' (Director Mahesh Raysaheb Kale)
- 'Nadi Vahate' (Director Sandeep Sawant)

This year PIFF will be held between January 12th and 19th, 2017 in 13 screens 8 venues located in Pune and Pimpri-Chinchwad. The venues include City Pride Kothrud, City Pride Satara Road, City Pride R-Deccan, Mangala Multiplex, Inox Bund Garden Road, National Films Archives of India (NFAI) and Carnival Cinemas Chinchwad.